I’m Hungry: Farmer’s Market Pizza

One of the things that prompted me to start writing a blog was the good intention of trying to convey some good information to other single-parents, especially those that find themselves new to the role. One topic that often comes up IRL† from friends and others that find themselves in this single-parent world is the subject of food. Usually in a two-parent household one parent is the primary cook. This means that 1 out of 2 people that become a single-parent may feel ill-equiped to cook for their kids, let alone themselves. I wanna help. I’m no great chef, but I do seem to be able to make things that my kids eat. To me, that’s a big part of it. Other times though, I do cook for myself.

Today’s recipe: Farmer’s Market PizzaThere are two Farmer’s Markets that take place near me each week. Both of them have stands that sell miscellaneous varieties of humus, pita bread chips, olives, and other Mediterranean based type foods. They also sell flatbread — its not quite pita bread, and I’m sure it has a specific name, but I don’t know what it is — and a little container of feta cheese with sun dried tomatoes. These are the two main ingredients for our pizza.

Putting it together is simple enough:

  • Lay out the flatbread
    Ingredients
  • Cover with 1-2 tablespoons of pasta sauce.
    This is the only ingredient that you probably won’t find at the farmer’s market. You can use any type of sauce that you like. For this pizza, I used some of a sauce that was still in my fridge with garlic and mushrooms.
    Adding sauce Spreading the sauce Sauce ready
  • Spread about 1/2 the feta cheese on the pizza, then top with about 1/2 the sun dried tomatoes. Unless you like to pile on the feta, you can get two pizzas out of each container of feta/tomatoes.
    toppings added
  • Place on a cookie sheet and pop in the oven.
    I use the cookie sheet rather than placing it directly on the rack because of the oils that run off the bread and cheese. If you prefer to cook directly on the rack, simply place a cookie sheet on the rack below to catch the drippings.

  • Cook at 300ºF for 10-15.
    This is how long I cooked this pie. All the toppings and the bread were cold, so they didn’t cook as quickly as you might expect. The best bet is to just keep an eye on it and when you see the edge of the crust toasting, take it out.
    cooked pizza
  • Cut, and enjoy.

pizza ready to serveLast week I also bought some tasty fuerte avocados which just started to ripen. I decided to try some on my pizza for lunch…and it was great. I don’t cook the avocados on the pizza though; I’m not sure how that might turn out.

Hope you enjoy!

† IRL = In Real Life = The non-internet world where you physical interact with people. I know… crazy huh?

About Fresh Start Dad
Early forties, divorced dad of two teenagers, surviving back in the single world. Here to share stories and any survival skills I pick-up a

Leave a comment